Fashion Legend

Marilyn Monroe and other legends…

Marilyn Monroe in a bikini, Fashion, Icon, Fashion Blog, Conversationals

Ever since I stumbled across Marilyn Monroe’s ‘Last Sessions’ on TV a few years ago, I began to experience the fascination the world had and still does with this woman. But my interest doesn’t stem from her acting or singing abilities (having somewhat embarrassingly never seen a film of hers, the only singing I’ve heard being that breathy ‘Happy Birthday’ she wished to John Kennedy) but because the world was so drawn to her and she became legend, and as is a mandatory factor of fame, her mind was so troubled.

I’m not actually particularly proud of my fondness for Marilyn, as her legendary status, along with others- Audrey Hepburn, The Rolling Stones, Bowie- tends to result in hundreds of thousands of ‘fans’ buying into the hoopla, donning the t-shirts and plastering portraits on walls etc etc, without even knowing why they’re meant to like them, and it is all somewhat of a cliché. But yes, ‘fondness’ is definitely the correct terminology; I am fond of Marilyn, having read her autobiography and subsequent biographies about her, which paint a very delicate and troubled picture. But she was inquisitive and determined, with a lot more going on behind the eyeliner, crimson lips and platinum curls than some would think.  I am intrigued by her and her life- what went on in her mind and what she actually experienced, and of course how she met her end, because the world shall never know. But one thing is for certain- there is something about Marilyn.

And there seems to be ‘something’ about a lot of women throughout the past 100 years, everyone seemed more beautiful, there is a whimsical romance about the past, or an inherent coolness that you just don’t seem to get anymore. I know I am mistaken, I know I only feel this way because I grew up in the 90s, became aware of beauty in the 00s and have always longed to have witnessed times past- when fashion and music were groundbreaking, innovative and remoulding society. Where harem pants and mini-skirts and platforms were avant-garde and parents couldn’t state, “I used to have one of those”, but instead marvelled at these new garments.

I do wonder who the Marilyns, Audreys and Twiggys of our time are though, Kate Moss of course, but even she seems to belong to the past. Who is beautiful enough now to be gracing our walls in 20 years’ time? What music will we still listen to? Who is worthy enough from recent years to become legend? I guess we will have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

