The Making of Harry Potter

The Making of Harry Potter, Warner Bros. Studio Tour, Film, ReviewA sunny Sunday behind the scenes…

Before delving into the movie-world of itty, bitty, baby, Potter, I must admit I was a tad sceptical. My two main concerns being, is this going to completely kybosh the magic? And, is Butterbeer going to live up to expectations? Because if not, that will totally kybosh the magic. But, thankfully, the answers to those questions were no and yes respectively.

Before arriving at Potterland (as I have affectionately named the Warner Brothers’ warehouse) I hadn’t really paid the whole shebang much thought (although booked months in advance) so hadn’t gotten all that excited, unlike my Potter-mad companions. But, much like the time I went to Euro Disney, upon arrival I was if anything, a little over excited.

After picking up our audio-guides, and the ‘Potter Passports’ meant for children, we were in. And the one thing that kept hitting me over and over again was the sheer amount of money, time, skill and effort that went into making the eight films.

The meticulous and in some parts, unnecessary detail that ensued throughout the franchise is quite frankly, incredible. Whole sets were built and then torn down hours later, all portraits seen throughout the films were individually painted, thousands upon thousands of wand boxes for Ollivander’s shop were all created and labelled, by hand. Newspapers and comics were made, those kittens on Umbridge’s decorative plates were all filmed in front of a green screen, animals were trained, weird and wonderful vehicles were built, and roads in central London were closed for eight whole nights for Knight Bus filming.

Hogwarts Castle, Harry Potter, Warner Bros Studio Tour, film

Not to mention every creature, building and costume that was scrupulously designed and drawn from every angle, and in the case of the properties, beautifully built out of cardboard. Oh, and not forgetting that magnificent and rather large model of Hogwarts Castle which featured in all the outdoor shots and took seven months to build, its bricks re-painted for each film.

After many a photo-op (including in the Ford Anglia, on the actual set of Diagon Alley, and the aforementioned Knight Bus) and a glorious cup of Butterbeer, which by the way is toffee flavoured soda with a very sweet and creamy ice cream float, we were saddened to have come to the end of our tour, but elated to have entered the realms of the gift shop.

After reigning myself in quite profusely, I settled for a real-life Chocolate Frog (sadly it doesn’t leap about, but it does come with a holographic wizard card) and a rather sweet Chocolate Frog key ring, to act as a memory for when I have devoured his tasty counterpart (of which I am currently doing).

Chocolate Frog Harry Potter, Making of Harry Potter, Warner Bros, Film

Although the secrets were all revealed, Potterland has only made me wish harder that Hogwarts was in fact real and that I had in fact attended, or at the very least been cast as Hermione (I had perfectly frizzy hair and big teeth as a kid). Alas, The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando will have to do. Now, who’s taking me?

Comments
2 Responses to “The Making of Harry Potter”
  1. absolutelycheryl says:

    So lucky of you to have visited the studio! I’ve always wanted to go there (might do so in the future). Love the packaging of your chocolate frog! 😀 I’ve visited the Harry Potter exhibition recently in my country but the packaging of the chocolate frog wasn’t as pretty as yours. :X

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    Yup, they not only bring the world to life, but makes fans wish its real. I wish i could go though.

Leave a Reply

