On my Bookshelf – Grace

Grace: A Memoir, Grace Coddington, Fashion, Us Vogue, British Vogue, BooksA meander through the papery delights upon my bookshelf…

Although not a vast collection, I am somewhat proud of the books I have acquired over the past few years. And despite not delving my nose in nearly enough, I have an affection for each and every one.

My current read is that of Grace: A Memoir of Grace Coddington, the creative director of US Vogue, former fashion editor of British Vogue and all-round Sixties’ babe.

A personal stroll through her five decade-long, thoroughly fashionable career (and early life in blustery Anglesey) Grace provides a valuable insight into a sartorial world which is brimming with peaks and pitfalls alike, plus an open-invite into the institution that is Vogue Magazine.

Doting on times gone by – the fashions, the music, the way things were done – as I do, a memoir of someone such as Grace is a dreamy read for the likes of me, although I do wish there were even more photographs. I adore an old photograph.

Grace Coddington, Jeanloup Sieff, 1966, copyright Estate of Jeanloup Sieff, Fashion, Sixties, Photography

Grace Coddington by Jeanloup Sieff, 1966, copyright Estate of Jeanloup Sieff

Grace Coddington, Marc Hispard, 1965, Vidal Sassoon, for Mademoiselle, Fashion, Photography

Grace Coddington by Marc Hispard, 1965, with a Vidal Sassoon haircut, for Mademoiselle

Grace Coddington and Didier Malige, Barry Lategan, 1981, Fashion, Photography

Grace Coddington and Didier Malige by Barry Lategan, 1981

Leave a Reply

